Kwekwe Arts Merit Awards: All the winners


Leisure & Lifestyle Desk

The winners for the 3rd edition of the Kwekwe Arts Merit Awards (KAMA) were announced at a colourful ceremony held at AutoWorks, in Kwekwe last Friday.

Australian based Jiti and Chimurenga musician Kozzy Kozile’s hard work continues to pay off after he clinched the Best Video award with his song, Amai, released in November last year.

Speaking to midlandsnews Leisure & Lifestyle from his base in Australia Kozile said, he was honoured to receive the award and he dedicated it to her late mother.

“It is such a great honour to receive this award which I dedicate to my late mother, I would like also to thank my friends, family, and fans as well as my manager and producer for supporting me,” said Kozzy Kozile

The Best Afro Jazz award went to On One and the Best Best Album of the Year award went to Takura Shava. Loreto High School took home the Best Poetry award. Other winners in different categories are Chipo Chipwanyira, Thulani Mashava, Maungira Edenga, Mbizo High School and Tafadzwa Jeche

The late Sungura maestro, Tongai Dhewa Moyo, was posthumously honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Below is the full list of winners:

Video of the Year -Minister Lindani

Hip-Hop Artist – Munashe Vicious

ZimDancehall – Zilla

Arts and Culture Reporter- Tongai Mashonga

Best Female Gospel Musician – Julia Nyengera

Female Up-coming Gospel Musician – Chipo Chipwanyira

Best AfroPop – Evelyn Dzingwe

Best Afro Jazz – On One

Best Sungura Group – Eccossa Rhythms

Best Video- Kozzy Kozile

Drawing and Painting – Thulani Mashava

Traditional Gospel – Kenizious Musonza

Graphic Designer – Jack Wilbert

Best MC – Enock Rwodzi

Artist with Disability – Tafadzwa Jeche

Best Music Promoter – Farai Phabbs Mangwende

Most Promising Artist – Rhatty Mpeswa

Contemporary Dance Group – Flame House

Promoter and Venue – Golden Mile Hotel

DJ Of the Year- DJ Eddy B

Male Gospel Group – Maungira Edenga

Best Contemporary Male Gospel – Kembo Blessing

Album of the Year (Book yeUpenyu) Takura Shava

Traditional Dance Community – Ben Arinoti

Best Choral Group – Anglican Church Redcliff

Best Craftsmanship –David Ngoma

Schools Traditional Dance – Chidza Primary School

Choral Music – Kushinga Primary School

Best Jazz Female Artist – Noe Kangomela

Poetry – Loreto High School

Drama – Dendera Seconary School

Drama – St Judes High School

Dance – Sidhakeni High School

Music – Mbizo High School

Poetry – Wozoli High School

Honorary Awards – Tongai Moyo

Honorary Awards – Bob Nyabinde

Honorary Awards – Zig Zag Band

Honorary Awards – Good Child

Feedback: CALL/SMS/WHATSAPP 0712069743