MDC-T recalls 11 more Harare City councilors from office



The opposition political party MDCT led by Thokozani Khupe has recalled eleven councilors including deputy mayor of Harare City Council effective September 11, midlands news has learnt.

Local Government Minister, July Moyo, Monday advised Harare council of the MDC T position in a letter addressed to the town clerk.

”I wish to inform you that I’m in receipt of a letter from the Movement of Democratic Change T stating that councilors for the wards 24, 39, 19, 34, 30, 8, 40, 21, 29, 6 and 35 have been expelled from the party.

”In terms of section 278 (1) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe as read with Section 129 (1) (k) the said wards are now vacant.

”Accordingly, interms of Section 121 of the Electoral Act, please inform the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission”, said Minister Moyo in a letter to Harare Town Clerk.

The recalled councillors are Makuwerere Lovemore, Hadebe Gilbert, Kufahakutizwi Munyaradzi, Mapanzure Simon, Chidhagu Charles, Charumbira Keith, Dhliwayo Stephen, Ndira Barnabas, Runyowa Chihoma, Nyatsuro Charles and Deputy Moyo, Mpamawonde Enoch.

The eleven councilors could have been recalled for defying the MDC T directive to vote Luckson Mkunguma in the last week’s Mayoral election in which Jacob Mafume of MDC Alliance emerged winner after he polled nineteen votes against Mkunguma’ fourteen.

Mkunguma was MDC T’ favourate candidate.

The recalled eleven brings the total number to twenty one of recalled Harare councilors by the MDC T.

The latest development may result in Mafume being ejected from the Mayoral office as the MDC T is reportedly in total control of the town house.