BREAKING: Rival camps claim victory in Zanu PF Midlands elections



Zanu PF Midlands Provincial plebiscite to elect the Chairwoman and Youth Chairperson appears neck-to-neck with both rival camps claiming victory based on unofficial results, midlandsnews can report.

Party National Secretary for Commissariat, Mike Bimba is expected to announce the official results later today.

While Bimba is yet to make a statement regarding the final results, Preliminary election results indicate that Tsitsi Zhou won against the much celebrated Perseverance Zhou popularly known as Gonyeti while Phenious Makombe lost to Enerst Dzoro for the Provincial Youth League chairmanship.

Insiders say that Perseverance Zhou and Dzoro are linked to a rival group led by gold dealer Kandros Mugabe and outgoing Chairman Eng Daniel McKenzie Ncube while Makombe and Tsitsi Zhou are said to be part of a group allegedly led by State Security Minister, Owen Ncube and July Moyo who is the Minister of Local Government.

The Mugabe faction allegedly has the backing of Joram Gumbo a Senior Minister in the Office of The President.

Efforts to get a comment from both camps proved futile at the time of publishing.

Bimha was not picking up calls.

Larry Mavhima is the only confirmed provincial office bearer after he got elected unopposed as the Provincial Chairman.

Mavhima is also the Midlands Minister of State for Provincial Affairs and Devolution.

This is not the first time that Mavhima has contested for chairmanship. In 2013, Mavhima lost the top post to the now incarcerated former Midlands Province Governor, Jason Machaya.

Machaya then allegedly belonged to the former Vice President, Joyce Mujuru camp while reports say Mavhima had the support of the current President Emmerson Mnangagwa’ faction.

Claims of vote rigging are not new in ZanuPF internal processes.

In 2013 Mavhima claimed, ” I was leading in the elections with an 800-vote margin. That is how it was with returns from all the districts only to be told that Machaya had surpassed me in Shurugwi North which was the last district to come in.

“I have filed a petition because the results are contaminated and they do not reflect the position on the ground”.

Below are the Preliminary election results:

Chair J Sibanda
Women’s R Sibanda
Youth F Murechu

Chair. Masimirembwa G
Women Mukarati R
Youth Mahachi E

*Mashonaland Central*
Chair Kazembe K
Women Gezi T
Youth Raradza E

Chair L Mavhima
Women Zhou T
Youth Dzoro E

Chair Madiro
Women Nyakuyedzwa H
Youth Sakupwanya S

*Mashonaland East*
Chair Garwe D
Women Munzverengi
Youth Tasikani I

*Mashonaland West*
Chair M Muliswa
Women Shamu C
Youth Masenda T

*Matebeleland North*
Chair Richard Moyo
Women Msimanga D
Youth no election

*Matebeleland South*
Chair Mangaliso Ndlovu
Women S Nleya
Youth Langa N

Chair Mavhenyengwa R
Women Mhlanga A S
Youth Paradza J